Posts Tagged FNB

First National Bank Scams

9th April 2009

Sender: FNB ONLINE BANKING

From: FNB ONLINE BANKING <noreply@fnb.co.za>

Reply-To:

Subject: Account Information

Dear Nedbank Customer,

We conduct maintenance of our servers periodically to ensure the maximum efficiency of the portal. This service has been set-up to stop spam attacks and build confident to our Customers, this operation will not stop until we make sure your online banking information is secure.

In regards to this, we are automatically moving all Nedbank customers’ online users to a secured server for added security and for a convenience online banking experience. This registration is mandatory to all customers because unregistered accounts will be denied from our database after this upgrade has been completed.

Follow the below process

http://www.nedbank.co.za [Actually links to http://www.liverpool.addr.com/NedBank/Internet-Banking.html]

Best Wishes,

Nedbank Limited Security Team

Nedbank Ltd Reg No 1951/000009/06. We subscribe to the Code of Banking Practice of The Banking Association South Africa and, for unresolved disputes, support resolution through the Ombudsman for Banking Services. We are an authorised financial services provider.We are a registered credit provider in terms of the National Credit Act (NCR Reg
No NCRCP16

Obvious clues that this is a scam.

  • Confused – no way FNB would send to Nedbank clients, unless they feel like handing over money for infringement
  • BBB – Bullshit Baffles Brains
  • Grammar
  • Link to Obvious Fake – http://www.liverpool.addr.com/NedBank/Internet-Banking.html

7th April 2009

Sender: FNB Bank

From: FNB Bank <risk@fnb.co.za>

Reply-To:

Subject: FNB Online Alert

Dear Valued FNB Customers,

As from April 2009, We are introducing the online GX-5 banking method which is aimed at preventing internet hackers and phishing experts from getting access to your online banking details in any way. All Online banking users are required to adhere strictly to this warning and follow up the process to this upgrade.

Register your online banking access, click on the link below and follow the instructions:

http://www.fnb.co.za [Links to http://www.idance.co.kr/zb/data2/fnb_secure_server/FNB-Online.htm and not FNB]


FNB will not be responsible for loss of funds to online phishers as a result of failure to comply with this important new directives. We are committed to serving you better.

Bank and stay safe online.

Security Management,

First National Bank

First National Bank – a division of FirstRand Bank Limited. An Authorised Financial Services and Credit Provider (NCRCP20)

Obvious clues that this is a scam.

  • I don’t think FNB would call themselves, FNB Bank [i.e. First National Bank Bank]
  • BBB – Bullshit Baffles Brains
  • Grammar
  • Link to Obvious Fake – http://www.idance.co.kr/zb/data2/fnb_secure_server/FNB-Online.htm

7th Jan 2009

Sender: First National Bank

From: First National Bank <”risks”@fnb, co.za>

Reply-To:

Subject: New Secure Socket Layer (SSL) 2009 Upgrade!

The mail message exactly as I received it. Link removed.

Account Verification Notification

Dear customer,

We believe that, as in everything else, you deserve the best in banking too.
We have successfully implemented a world class security server base to ensure our customers uses a secure and safe online banking service

Register to the new Secure Socket layer server software to secure your online account.

Take 5 to 10 Minutes of your online banking experience to complete this process
Managements. Click Here

[was directed to http://filipeleite.com/fabricio/fnb/FNB-Online.htm]
Managements
FNB Security Dept Team


Please do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered.
For assistance, log in to your FNB Online Bank account and choose the “Help” link on any page.
FNB  Email ID # 1009

Obvious clues that this is a scam.

  • Invalid Mail Address
  • BBB – Bullshit Baffles Brains
  • Grammar
  • Link to Obvious Fake – http://filipeleite.com/fabricio/fnb/FNB-Online.htm

Not sure what the game is here, what the gain is for the spammer

, ,

No Comments