ABSA Bank Scams

8th April 2009

Sender: Absa Bank Limited

From: Absa Bank Limited <security@absa.co.za>

Reply-To:

Subject: Security Update Alert

Read the rest of this entry »

, ,

No Comments

Local Promotional Magazines

Resort Life Zimbali

Jenni McCallum

082 411 6401 * 032 946 1502

Fax: 086 503 1811

The South African Golfers Yearbook 2010

4th annual edition

The Sa Golfers Yearbook is the official yearbook of the Sunshine Tour, South Africa’s premier golf tour, which includes events like the Nedbank Golf Challenge, the Alfred Dunhill Championship, the SA Open and the Swaziland Samsung Classic.

Please refer to attached media pack for the relevant information for advertising in the next edition.

We are currently working on the 14th annual edition to be published in December 2009.

Payment is only due 30 days after publication.

SA Golfer’s Yearbook is distributed throughout the year at all 19 tournaments providing Zululand with a full year of exposure.

SA Golfer’s Yearbook is distributed throughout the year through the following channels:

1. Corporate Nedbank clients
2. All members of the South African PGA
3. The Pro shops where the Sunshine Events are held.
4. To spectators, sponsors and corporate guests at all Sunshine Events.

SA Golfer’s Yearbook is focused on golf & lifestyle, incorporating golf estates/developments, golf events, equipment, travel both local & internationally, where to stay and play, etc.

Due to the targeted readership, distribution reaches the upper income groups (LSM 8 – 10), who are of an affluent nature with a high disposable income.

Tel: +27 21 469 2400
Fax: +27 21 462 1124
Web: www.picasso.co.za
Email: info@picasso.co.za
105/107 Hatfield Street
Gardens, Cape Town, South Africa

No Comments

Llandaff Oratory Chapel

Llandaff Oratory Chapel is a small chapel with only 8 seats.

Windy Corner, 3km’s from town, offers views of the mountains and lower lying regions.

”the little church“ at Van Reenan’s Pass

Contact

Geraldine Johnston

Tel: 058-671- 106

Cell: 072 156 1401

e-mail: geraj@mweb.co.za

Establishment’s Closeby

Llandaff Lodge

Van Reenen Tourism Bureau

Tel: 058 622 3525

No Comments

Banlard Corpa Booking Scam

Sender: Banlard Colpa

From: Banlard Colpa <banlardcorpa@yahoo.com>

Reply-To: banlardcorpa@yahoo.com

Subject: ACOMMODATION NEEDED…..

The mail message exactly as I received it.

Dear Sir/Ma,
My name is Banlard Corpa I will want you to assist me to book hotel for the family of Thiery Brown coming to your country and they intend to stay for 7days holiday,below is the details for the reservation.
Guest name and details
Thiery Brown
Molla Brown....1 Double room
Chery Brown
Sliry Brown.....1 double room
choice of room..2 Double Rooms
Correct check in Date is ......................
check in Date:27th March 2009
Checkout date:4th April  2009
I will like you to book the room for the family and email me the total cost for the 7 nights stay in usd$ or Euro so that i can send you card for prepayment for the payment of the room.I will also like to know if you accept the method of payment i.e MASTER/VISACARD.
Await your response and the quotations.
Best whiches.
Banlard Corpa

Obvious clues that this is a scam.

  • 3rd party mail account
  • Spelling
  • Grammar
  • Case Misuse/Abuse
  • Extra Spaces
  • I’m not a hotel, do you book before you know what for and how much

,

No Comments

First National Bank Scams

9th April 2009

Sender: FNB ONLINE BANKING

From: FNB ONLINE BANKING <noreply@fnb.co.za>

Reply-To:

Subject: Account Information

Dear Nedbank Customer,

We conduct maintenance of our servers periodically to ensure the maximum efficiency of the portal. This service has been set-up to stop spam attacks and build confident to our Customers, this operation will not stop until we make sure your online banking information is secure.

In regards to this, we are automatically moving all Nedbank customers’ online users to a secured server for added security and for a convenience online banking experience. This registration is mandatory to all customers because unregistered accounts will be denied from our database after this upgrade has been completed.

Follow the below process

http://www.nedbank.co.za [Actually links to http://www.liverpool.addr.com/NedBank/Internet-Banking.html]

Best Wishes,

Nedbank Limited Security Team

Nedbank Ltd Reg No 1951/000009/06. We subscribe to the Code of Banking Practice of The Banking Association South Africa and, for unresolved disputes, support resolution through the Ombudsman for Banking Services. We are an authorised financial services provider.We are a registered credit provider in terms of the National Credit Act (NCR Reg
No NCRCP16

Obvious clues that this is a scam.

  • Confused – no way FNB would send to Nedbank clients, unless they feel like handing over money for infringement
  • BBB – Bullshit Baffles Brains
  • Grammar
  • Link to Obvious Fake – http://www.liverpool.addr.com/NedBank/Internet-Banking.html

7th April 2009

Sender: FNB Bank

From: FNB Bank <risk@fnb.co.za>

Reply-To:

Subject: FNB Online Alert

Dear Valued FNB Customers,

As from April 2009, We are introducing the online GX-5 banking method which is aimed at preventing internet hackers and phishing experts from getting access to your online banking details in any way. All Online banking users are required to adhere strictly to this warning and follow up the process to this upgrade.

Register your online banking access, click on the link below and follow the instructions:

http://www.fnb.co.za [Links to http://www.idance.co.kr/zb/data2/fnb_secure_server/FNB-Online.htm and not FNB]


FNB will not be responsible for loss of funds to online phishers as a result of failure to comply with this important new directives. We are committed to serving you better.

Bank and stay safe online.

Security Management,

First National Bank

First National Bank – a division of FirstRand Bank Limited. An Authorised Financial Services and Credit Provider (NCRCP20)

Obvious clues that this is a scam.

  • I don’t think FNB would call themselves, FNB Bank [i.e. First National Bank Bank]
  • BBB – Bullshit Baffles Brains
  • Grammar
  • Link to Obvious Fake – http://www.idance.co.kr/zb/data2/fnb_secure_server/FNB-Online.htm

7th Jan 2009

Sender: First National Bank

From: First National Bank <”risks”@fnb, co.za>

Reply-To:

Subject: New Secure Socket Layer (SSL) 2009 Upgrade!

The mail message exactly as I received it. Link removed.

Account Verification Notification

Dear customer,

We believe that, as in everything else, you deserve the best in banking too.
We have successfully implemented a world class security server base to ensure our customers uses a secure and safe online banking service

Register to the new Secure Socket layer server software to secure your online account.

Take 5 to 10 Minutes of your online banking experience to complete this process
Managements. Click Here

[was directed to http://filipeleite.com/fabricio/fnb/FNB-Online.htm]
Managements
FNB Security Dept Team


Please do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered.
For assistance, log in to your FNB Online Bank account and choose the “Help” link on any page.
FNB  Email ID # 1009

Obvious clues that this is a scam.

  • Invalid Mail Address
  • BBB – Bullshit Baffles Brains
  • Grammar
  • Link to Obvious Fake – http://filipeleite.com/fabricio/fnb/FNB-Online.htm

Not sure what the game is here, what the gain is for the spammer

, ,

No Comments