Location: South Africa » Northern Cape » Karoo

The Karoo has 2 sub regions, the Great Karoo and the Little

The Karoo is a semi-desert region of South Africa. It has two main sub-regions - the Great Karoo and the Little Karoo.

Great Karoo

Currently sheep farming is still the economic backbone of the Great Karoo with other forms of agriculture taking place in areas where irrigation is possible. Lately game farms and tourism have also started to make an economic impact.

Little Karoo

As the name implies, the Little Karoo is the smaller (and more southerly) of the two Karoo sub-regions. Geographically it is a fertile valley (enclosed by the Swartberg, Langeberg and Outeniqua mountains) that features many spectacular rock formations and passes.

The main town of the region is Oudtshoorn, but some well-known mission stations such as Zoar, Amalienstein, Barrydale and Dysselsdorp are also situated here in the Little Karoo

Accommodation in and around Karoo

Swartberg Nature Reserve    accommodation in Karoo
This restored traditional cottage is fully equipped as self-catering accommodation and has a lovely view into Onderpoort. The flat-roofed home of Koot and Hettie Cordier at "Die Hoogte" is one of the most recent structures in the Kloof. It ... More

Directory of accommodation in Karoo